top of page

Freelancers Starter Pack (New Normal)

Updated: Oct 1, 2020

How to become a Virtual Assistant


How to become a Virtual Assistant
Freelancers Starter Pack (New Normal)

When I started working, I thought a perfect job is when you are contained inside the four walls of your office. Little did I know that there's life outside the typical office set-up that most of us were used to.


Here, I'd like to share what I think is needed to start your freelancing journey.

  1. Motivation to go out of your comfort zone - Many are afraid to go out of their comfort zone because of the monthly bills, fear to become jobless for a long time and also being rejected. It is indeed true that becoming a freelancer or a virtual assistant may not be easy as others may think. However, it would be rewarding if you will receive your first payment after a series of hard work.

  2. Computer or a laptop - Mostly people think that they need to have a high standard desktop or laptop to become a freelancer and land a job like a virtual assistant, website designer, English tutor, or other freelancing jobs available. Based on my training conducted by Coach Riz, a good desktop or laptop can do multitasking. It doesn't need to be a gamer pc or high-end laptop but just a decent one will do. You might not know if you will have multiple clients, so get one that can do multiple jobs too.

  3. Skills - Accept it or not, skills are very essential in this industry. At first, I am pretty sure that I can't do this. Though I am interested in freelancing, I don't have the skills for me to be a freelancer. And so I thought. But my curiosity leads the way. I enrolled in a freelancing course at Filipino Virtual Assistant Consultancy and learned the skills I needed to start. While waiting to get clients through proposals I have submitted, I am practicing what I have acquired during my training.

  4. Portfolios - These are what you need to work on. This will showcase your talent as a freelancer. This will be your way for the client to say "yes" and work with you. Usually, clients will ask you about your portfolios, so better be ready and give your best to submit exemplary portfolios to your possible clients.

  5. Prayer - "Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God." - Philippians 4:6. I believe that all that we have comes from God. He is the source of everything. Therefore, it is best to ask for the guidance of the Lord. If it is according to His will, it will be done. Sounds familiar? Because it is true. For more inspiration, please click here.

If others can do it, so are you. So what are you waiting for? Try and start your success now. Happy freelancing!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page